I had thought it was made from a bacteria, and so it was a lab thing.
However, it turns out that it is made from corn, and that it gets its name from a bacteria. It's all rather confusing.
Since this is a common ingredient in gluten-free baking, and in salad dressings, I think I will have to do some more research.
Perhaps I should switch to guar gum; it's cheaper anyway.
I have been informed that Xanthan Gum is indeed a bacteria, but it is grown on a corn substrate (molecule upon which an enzyme reacts). Thank you Just Jenn.